Last updated: April 25. 2014 11:04AM - 1549 Views
By -

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Early voting begins Monday for the May 20 primary elections.

Those who want to vote early may go to the Troup County Government Center, 100 Ridley Ave. in LaGrange, during regular business hours starting 8 a.m. Monday. Early voting also will be available on May 10, a Saturday, from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. Early voting ends at 5 p.m. on May 16.

Voters for the election will draw either a Republican or Democratic ballot for voting. All ballots will have non-partisan races, like judges and local Board of Education seats, and two referendums for Sunday alcohol sales in unincorporated Troup County: one for package sales on Sundays between 12:30 p.m. and 11:30 p.m., and one for serving by the drink.

The contested local races on the ballots are:

Troup County Commission, chairman (county-wide) - Republican ballot: Frank Kirby or Patrick Crews.

Troup County Commission, District 5 - Democratic ballot: Incumbent Richard English Sr. or Nathan Gaskin.

Troup County Board of Education, District 7 - non-partisan: Incumbent Alfred McNair or Eric C. Davenport.

All other local races, including local state legislators, are not contested in the primary.

In national races, Republican voters also will choose among seven contenders for the U.S. Senate position being left open by Saxby Chambliss. Candidates are Arthur A. “Art” Gardner of Atlanta, David A. Perdue of Atlanta, Derrick Grayson of Redan, J.H. “Jack” Kingston of Savannah, J.P. “Phil” Gingrey of Marietta, Karen C. Handel of Alpharetta and Paul Collins Broun.

Democratic voters will choose among four candidates for the U.S. Senate seat: Brank “Rad” Radulovacki of Atlanta, M. Michelle Nunn of Atlanta, O. “Steen” Miles of Decatur and Todd Anthony Robinson of Columbus.

Republican voters also will have two candidates for the U.S. Representative for the Third District: Incumbent Lynn Westmoreland or C.E. “Chip” Flanegan. There are no Democratic candidates for the U.S. Representative position.

In state races, there are three Republican candidates for governor: Incumbent J. Nathan Deal of Gainesville, John D. Barge of Rome and David E. Pennington III. There is only one Democratic candidate: Jason J. Carter of Atlanta.

There also are four Democratic Party questions on the Democratic ballot: raising the state minimum wage; whether Georgians’ federal tax dollars should be returned to the state to fund Medicaid expansion; a state constitutional amendment to create an ethics committee not tied to the Governor’s, legislative or other elected offices; and a state constitutional amendment to make education the state’s first funding priority.

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Mortgage Minute