Last updated: March 17. 2014 3:42PM - 933 Views
Contributed report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Brothers of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc., Theta Nu Lambda Chapter, seated in LaGrange, recently celebrated the chapter’s 50th anniversary with a gala in LaGrange at the Best Western-LaFayette Gardens Inn.

The guest speaker for the event was the 29th General President of the fraternity, Milton C. Davis.

The event drew a crowd of more than 200 guests that enjoyed fine dining along with live music. The event also drew the Georgia district director and the southern regional vice president of the fraternity.

The 50th celebration also included a display at the Lewis Library on the campus of LaGrange College. The library is named after chapter founding member Frank Lewis and his wife.

Some of the prominent members of Alpha Phi Alpha include the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Adam Clayton Powell Jr., Quinn Buckner, Andrew Young, Maynard Jackson, Dick Gregory, Stuart Scott of ESPN, Thurgood Marshall, David Dinkins, Cornel West, Duke Ellington, John H. Johnson, Donny Hathaway, Lenny Wilkens, Lionel Richie, Roland Martin, Hill Harper, Jesse Owens, and Art Shell. The local chapter serves Troup, Meriwether and Coweta counties.

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Mortgage Minute