Last updated: April 04. 2014 11:28AM - 2743 Views
Contributed report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Hatton Lovejoy Scholarship Committee on Thursday announced the award of 10 scholarships to outstanding high school seniors from the local area who will graduate in May.

Each student will receive $2,250 per semester of college attendance for four years, provided he or she continues to remain qualified.

There were six awards to LaGrange High School students, two awards to LaGrange Academy students, one award to a Callaway High School student and one award to a Troup High School student.

All students were in the top 5 percent of their class.

The students and colleges they have chosen are:

• Elly Ann Brown, Princeton University.

• Andrew Robert Coggins, Dartmouth College.

• Grace Amariah Curtis, University of Georgia.

• Evan Alexander Genova, Cornell University.

• Skye Ann Baling Mauldin, Georgia Insitute of Technology.

• Riley Elizabeth Penn, Georgia Institute of Technology.

• Emily Porter Polk, Georgia Institute of Technology.

• Canon Cole Skinner, Auburn University.

• William Edward Wooten Jr., Georgia Institute of Technology.

• James Joseph Zubernis Jr., Georgia Institute of Technology.

This is the 49th year for the Hatton Lovejoy Scholarship Plan, which was established by Fuller E. Callaway Foundation in memory of the late Hatton Lovejoy, a LaGrange attorney.

The value of the scholarships awarded this year is $180,000, and the total value of the scholarships awarded including 2014 exceeds $5 million.

The Scholarship Committee is composed of Kim Bond, Nancy Stevens and H. Speer Burdette III.

comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Mortgage Minute