Last updated: August 23. 2013 9:45AM - 466 Views
Julia Dyar

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

Augusts past, 25 years ago.

From LaGrange Daily News, 1988.

Front Page News

WGMC Wins Maximum Three-Year Accreditation — The West Georgia Medical Center in LaGrange has been awarded the maximum three-year accreditation by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations, Administrator Charles Foster Jr. announced Thursday.

The Hospice Program and Florence Hand Home also received the maximum accreditation.

$50,000 Callaway Grant Aids Police in Firearms Training — LaGrange Police will receive additional firearms training geared at testing not only officer’s accuracy in shooting, but judgement on when and when not to shoot because of a Callaway Foundation grant approved at today’s City Council meeting.

Police Chief Gary Shepherd presented a videotape to Council members outlining the Firearms Training System which presents real-life dramas that call for police to make judgement calls on whether or not to shoot.

Shepherd said the $50,000 grant would make the system accessible to Troup County, Hogansville and West Point law enforcement agencies as well as to the local police force.

Unity Presented ‘88 School Bell Award — Unity Kindergarten Center was recently chosen as a recipient of the 1988 School Bell Award given by the Georgia Association of Elementary School Principals. The award was presented at the Georgia Association of Education Leaders Summer Conference on Jekyll Island in July.

Unity was chosen the award winner from the Sixth District. It has only been operated for two years. The award is presented annually to 10 elementary schools from across the state.

Bob Layfield is principal of Unity School. He credits community support with enabling Unity to be nominated for this award by its parent/teacher organization.

LC Criminal Justice Majors Get Preview of Chosen Field — Three LaGrange College seniors have had field placements during the college’s summer quarter in order to have day-to-day experience in their areas of social work and/or criminal justice.

The three are Laura Browne, Jim McLaughlin and Robert Rumble. McLaughlin and Rumble worked with the detectives division of the LaGrange Police Department and Browne, a social work major, worked at the Coweta County Community Treatment Center in Newnan.

Getting Ready for the Roar of the Crowd — Callaway Stadium is getting a facelift, just in time for the approaching football season and many local citizens may be getting free firewood in the process.

The wooden stadium seats have been torn out and are being given away at the gate to anyone willing to load them up and haul them off. New aluminum stands are now being installed.

The other stadium seats have been sandblasted and the results are dramatic.

Lovejoy Law Scholarships Awarded — The Hatton Lovejoy Law Scholarship Committee of Fuller E. Callaway Foundation today announced the award of scholarships totaling $148,000 to nine outstanding law school students.

The students are Paul R. Cadle Jr., Jennifer Susan Clark, Mark L. DeGennaro, Shawn R. Holtzclaw, Susan Tammy Pearson, Marla Fran Phillips, Robert David Powell, Neil C. Thom, Matthew Henry Triggs.

Hagy Achieves Eagle Rank — John Law Hagy of LaGrange has attained the rank of Eagle Scout. Hagy, who will be a senior at LaGrange High School this year, is a member of Troop 326 at First Presbyterian Church where his Scout leaders have been Jerry Stockdale, David Whitley and Buddy Everhart.

Earlier this year he attended the 16th World Jamboree in Australia as a Junier Assistant Scoutmaster.

LaGrange Cotillion Club Selects 17 Debutantes as New Club Members — Summer festivities for members of the LaGrange Cotillion Club will begin on Saturday with a party featuring the “Autobahn” Band. On Tuesday there will be a mother-daughter supper at the home of Whitney Kirk, hosted by her mother, Mrs. Isabel Knight.

Other seasonal parties will lead up to the formal presentation and ball on Dec. 27, at Highland Country Club.

The new members are: Crista Michelle Bailey, Susan Nicole Ball, Leslie Kirsten Bushar, Ellen Callaway Cleaveland, Leslie Carole Dansby, Anne Hayes Drinkard, Helga Nicole Durand, Emily Ruth Duttera, Kristin Elizabeth Faress, Jennifer Wynn Holliday, Whitney McCrary Kirk, Sarah Duncan Lawrence, Mary Christine Morgan, Karen Lyn Scarborough, Lori Michelle Stephens, Stephanie Corine Welch and Kathryn Marie Wildes.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

LaGrange Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com