Candidate qualifying wraps today

Published 12:00 am Friday, March 11, 2016

Registration over at noon

By Tyler H. Jones

LaGRANGE — Qualifying wraps up today for individuals seeking their party’s nomination in the May 24 primary race.

The primary winners will face a general election on Nov. 8.

The following local offices are up for election later this year: clerk of superior court; sheriff; tax commissioner; coroner; solicitor; county commission seats in districts 2, 3 and 4; state court judge; probate judge and board of education seats in districts 2, 3, 5 and 6.

As of this morning, these individuals have qualified for the respective offices. Note that Republicans who may have qualified Thursday are not listed; volunteers with the Troup County Republican Party were unable to provide an update this morning. This list will be updated at as soon as the information is available.

Troup County Board of Commissioners

• Ellis Cadenhead, Republican, District 2.

• Lewis C. Davis, Republican, District 3.

• Tripp Foster, incumbent, Republican, District 3.

• J. Morris Jones, incumbent, Republican, District 4.

Troup County Tax Commissioner

• Shane Frailey, Republican.

• William “Bill” Hunnicutt, Republican.

• Ronnie LeFevers, Republican.

Troup County Sheriff

• Richie Bradley, Democrat.

• James Woodruff, incumbent, Republican.

Troup County Coroner

• Jeff Cook, incumbent, Republican.

Troup County State Court Judge

• Jeannette Little, incumbent, nonpartisan.

Troup County Solicitor-General

• Markette Baker, incumbent, Republican.

Troup County Board of Education

• J. Kirk Hancock, nonpartisan, District 2.

• Dorothy Corry Jennings, nonpartisan, District 2.

• Brandon Brooks, nonpartisan, District 3.

• John Asbell, nonpartisan, District 5.

• Kendall Butler, nonpartisan, District 5.

• Catherine W. Hunt, nonpartisan, District 5.

• Joe Franklin, nonpartisan, District 6.

Troup County Clerk of Courts

• Jackie Taylor, incumbent, Republican.

Troup County Probate Judge

• Donald W. Boyd, incumbent, nonpartisan.

Judge of Superior Court, Coweta Judicial Circuit

• Dennis Blackmon, incumbent, nonpartisan.

• Jack Kirby, incumbent, nonpartisan.

• Emery Palmer, incumbent, nonpartisan.

• Travis Sakrison, incumbent, nonpartisan.

• John Simpson, incumbent, nonpartisan.

District Attorney, Coweta Judicial Circuit

• Pete Skandalakis, incumbent, Republican.

State Representatives

• Randy Nix, incumbent, Republican, District 69.

• Bob Trammell Jr., incumbent, Democrat, District 132.

• John Pezold, incumbent, Republican, District 133.

State Senator

• Matt Brass, Republican, District 28.

• Josh McKoon, incumbent, Republican, District 29.

U.S. Representative

• Tamarkcus Cook, Democrat, District 3.

• Mike Crane, Republican, District 3.

• Drew Ferguson, Republican, District 3.

• Jim Pace, Republican, District 3.

U.S. Senator

• Cheryl Copeland, Democrat.

• John F. Coyne III, Republican.

• Derrick Grayson, Republican.

• Johnny Isakson, incumbent, Republican.

• James Knox, Democrat.

Qualifying ends today at noon. Read LaGrange Daily News online and in print this weekend for the final list of qualified candidates.

Tyler H. Jones is a reporter with LaGrange Daily News. He may be reached at 706-884-7311, ext. 2155.