Troup schools honor board members

Published 12:00 am Thursday, March 17, 2016

Contributed report

LaGRANGE — Troup County School System officials announced this week they are joining a statewide celebration saluting the efforts of local school board members.

Gov. Nathan Deal proclaimed March 14-18 as School Board Appreciation Week in Georgia. This weeklong observance calls attention to the contributions of local boards of education.

“We are grateful to have a school board who visits schools each month, ask questions, provides relevant feedback and works to improve our education system,” said Cole Pugh, superintendent of Troup County School System.

As constitutional officers of Georgia, school board members are responsible for setting educational policies, employing school personnel, providing buildings and equipment, operating a transportation system and disbursing school funds. As community leaders, school board members serve as advocates for the children in local public schools and must study, evaluate and decide what actions are in the best interest of those students, said TCSS officials.

In addition, board members participate in special events and advocate for the school system at the state level. They also attend education trainings, ceremonies and banquets throughout the year that focus on student and teacher achievements.

Troup County School System Board Members are:

District 1: Allen Simpson, board vice chair. Member since 2012.

District 2: Dianne Matthews. Member since 2001.

District 3: Sheila Rowe. Member since 1993.

District 4: Ted Alford, board chair. Member since 2011.

District 5: Debbie Burdette. Member since 2001.

District 6: Ashley Johnson Adams. Member since 2013.

District 7: Alfred McNair. Member since 1988.

The Georgia School Boards Association sponsors the celebration. The stated mission of GSBA is to ensure excellence in the governance of local school systems by providing leadership, advocacy and services, and by representing the collective resolve of Georgia’s 180 elected boards of education.

To learn more about your elected School Board officials, please visit

From a press release submitted by Troup County School System.