Foundation announces Lovejoy scholars

Published 12:00 am Monday, May 16, 2016

Contributed report


E. Doerr Doerr

S. Doerr Doerr








LaGRANGE — The Hatton Lovejoy Scholarship Committee recently announced the award of 10 scholarships to outstanding high school seniors from this area who will graduate this month.

Each student will receive $2,250 per semester of college attendance for four years, provided he or she continues to remain qualified.

All students were in the top 10 percent of their class.

The students and colleges they have chosen are:

Samuel Patrick Bowie, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Ellen Natalie Doerr, Clemson University.

Sara Katherine Doerr, University of Georgia.

Emily Keith Flowers, University of North Carolina.

Andrew Myles Ingram, University of Georgia.

William Andrew Pauley, University of Georgia.

Brooklyn Paige Thompson, Mississippi State University.

Marshall Hoke Todd, Georgia Institute of Technology.

Elizabeth Cassandra Wheeler, Duke University.

Tulla Gabriel White, University of Georgia.

This is the 51st year for the Hatton Lovejoy Scholarship Plan, which was established by the Fuller E. Callaway Foundation in memory of the late Hatton Lovejoy, a LaGrange attorney.

The value of the scholarships awarded this year is $180,000, and the total value of the scholarships awarded since the program began, including 2016, exceeds $5 million.

The Scholarship Committee is composed of Mrs. Kim Bond, Mrs. Nancy Stevens, and H. Speer Burdette III.

From a press release submitted by the Fuller E. Callaway Foundation. Submit your organization’s press release to editor Matthew Strother at