Election 2017: See who qualified in LaGrange, West Point, Hogansville races

Published 5:41 pm Friday, August 25, 2017

Qualification has ended for the 2017 municipal elections in LaGrange, West Point and Hogansville. Here’s a look at who qualified in each city:


Incumbent Jim Thornton will run against Jimmy D. McCamey in the LaGrange mayoral race.

Jim Arrington, Charles H. Pitts and William Luther Jones are running for spot 1B on the LaGrange City Council. Incumbent Nick Woodson elected not to run for re-election.

Incumbent Tom Gore will run unopposed for seat 1A on the LaGrange City Council.

Chad Cooper and Nathan Gaskin are the candidates for spot 2A on the LaGrange City Council. They are running for Norma Tucker’s seat. Tucker chose not to run for re-election.



Three candidates qualified for the position of mayor in Hogansville. Current Mayor William C. Stankiewicz will seek re-election against challengers Winston L. Herren and Fredrick D. Manley.

Incumbent Reginald Jackson will run unopposed in his bid for re-election on city council post No. 1.

Marichal Price and Valerie Buice qualified for council post No. 2, which is currently held by Jimmy Norred. Norred will not seek re-election.


West Point

West Point Mayor Pro-Tem Steve Tramell will face opposition from Deedee Godwin Williams in a special election to fill the seat vacated by Congressman Drew Ferguson.

Five candidates qualified for West Point City Council: incumbent Gloria Ramsey Marshall, incumbent Joseph R. Downs III, John H. Morrison, Alanteo Henry Hutchinson and Tracy Jemar Bandy.

This year’s election will be held on Nov. 7. If a runoff election is necessary, it will be held on Dec. 5.