Voters throughout Troup County go to polls on election day

Published 10:33 pm Monday, November 6, 2017

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. in Troup County on Tuesday as voters elect mayors of LaGrange, Hogansville and West Point.

Here’s a reminder of what is on the ballot in each city:


Current LaGrange Mayor Jim Thornton and challenger Jimmy McCamey will be on the ballot for LaGrange mayor.

Council hopefuls Jim Arrington, Chuck Pitts and Luther Jones are squaring off for city council post 1B, which is being vacated by Nick Woodson.

Incumbent Tom Gore is running opposed for council post 1A. Nathan Gaskin is running unopposed for council post 2A. Norma Tucker decided not to seek re-election.


Incumbent Bill Stankiewicz and Winston Herren are up for mayor of Hogansville.

Marichal Price and Valerie Buice are seeking city council post No. 2, which is currently held by Jimmy Norred. Norred will not seek re-election.

Reginald Jackson, who currently holds council post No. 1, is running unopposed.


Mayor Pro-Tem Steve Tramell and Deedee Williams will square off for the position of West Point mayor. This is a special election after Drew Ferguson vacated the position.

Three vacant positions will also be filled on the city council. Incumbent Gloria Marshall, incumbent Joseph  Downs III, John Morrison, Alanteo Henry Hutchinson and Tracy Jemar Bandy will battle for three spots.


Countywide residents will vote yes or no on SPLOST V.

If passed, SPLOST projects would include renovating the LaGrange Police Department and a new headquarters and fire engines for the Troup County Fire Department.