Four had qualified in local elections by 5 p.m. on Tuesday

Published 10:31 pm Tuesday, March 6, 2018

As of 5 p.m. Tuesday, four local candidates have qualified for the upcoming primary and nonpartisan general election in May, according to the secretary of state website.

Incumbent Patrick Crews has qualified to run for Troup County Commission chairman as a Republican. Incumbent Richard English Jr. has qualified as a Democrat for county commissioner district five.

Jay Russell has qualified for the district four post on the Troup County School Board. Ted Alford, who currently represents district four on the school board, announced at last month’s meeting that he will not run for office again.

Incumbent Vickie Sue McWaters has qualified as judge of magistrate court.

In the statewide elections, many are vying for the right to represent Troup County.  In the Georgia House of Representatives, incumbent Rep. Randy Nix has qualified in district 69 as a Republican. District 69 includes parts of Carroll, Heard and Troup County. Incumbent Rep. Bob Trammell qualified for state representative district 132 as Democrat. District 132 includes Coweta, Meriwether and Troup County. Republican Vance Smith qualified to represent district 133, which includes parts of Harris, Muscogee and Troup County. John Pezold currently represents district 133, but announced in a Facebook post in April 2017 that he did not plan to run for re-election.

In the Georgia State Senate, incumbent Matt Brass has qualified to run for district 28, which includes Carroll, Coweta, Fulton, Heard and Troup County. Republican Randy Robertson has qualified to run for district 29, which includes parts of Harris, Meriwether, Muscogee and Troup County. Josh McKoon currently represents district 29, but is planning to run for Georgia’s Secretary of State.

In federal elections, incumbent Republican Drew Ferguson has qualified in district three in the U.S. House of Representatives.  District three includes Troup County.

Qualifying will end Friday at noon, according to the Secretary of State Brian Kemp’s website.

Elections will be held May 22 for primaries and nonpartisan elections.

A run-off for those races is scheduled for July 24, if needed.

The general election will be held Nov. 6, 2018.

The last day to register to vote in the May 22 election is April 24, 2018. Voter registration information is available at Qualification requirements include valid ID, a completed declaration of candidacy and qualifying fee payment.