Three have qualified for school board seat

Published 7:50 pm Wednesday, March 7, 2018

Three people have qualified so far to run for the seventh district seat on the Troup County School Board, according to the secretary of state website.

As of Wednesday afternoon at 5 p.m., Elijah Kresses, Maiya Dowell and Tanya K Jones-Cameron had all qualified to run for the district seven position, which is currently held by Alfred McNair. McNair has served on the Troup County School Board since 1988.

Jay W. Russell is the only person qualified for the district four seat, which is currently held by Ted Alford. Alford, a longtime educator, said he will not run for re-election earlier this year.

Incumbent Allen Simpson has qualified to run for re-election district one.

Other qualifiers in local elections include incumbents Patrick Crews (Republican, county commission), Richard English (Democrat, county commission district five) and Vickie Sue McWaters (judge of magistrate court).

Qualifying ends Friday and the election is scheduled for May 22.