Grand marshals announced for parade

Published 7:05 pm Monday, April 23, 2018

Four local public safety “heroes” will be honored as grand marshals of the 2018 Sweet Land of Liberty parade on July 4.

“Reflecting our parade theme, ‘Home of the Brave,’  we are proud to announce that grand marshals will be Deputy Stephanie Masuoka of the Troup County Sheriff’s Department, Detective Jeremey Jones of the  LaGrange Police Department, Deputy Chief Willie Bradfield of the LaGrange Fire Department and Battalion Chief Gene Hogg of the Troup County Fire Department,” said Carrie Blankenship, JSL member and parade director.

The honorees were selected both for their own exemplary service and as representatives of the many “hometown heroes” within their departments, Blankenship said.

“Our theme was chosen to recognize those we too easily forget in the community. Our grand marshals are the unsung heroes of Troup County,” Blankenship said. “Without them our community would not be the blessing that it is.”

Masouka was nominated “for going above the call of duty” after suffering a debilitating injury while working a traffic accident in 2017.  She returned to duty earlier this year after months of rehabilitation.

Jones was chosen for outstanding performance which also earned him honors as LPD’s officer of the year.

Bradfield, a 19-year veteran who also works with the Heard County Fire Department, was tapped for his many contributions to the department and the community.

Hogg, was nominated by Chief Dennis Knight for “continuous service and support to the community.”

Junior Service League leaders visited each of the four departments last week to deliver the news — and gift bags — to each recipient.

Junior Service League members have been supporting the youth parade since it was founded by the late Annette Boyd, a league member, in 1985. For the past several years, the league has been the primary sponsor of the parade.

Other local groups partnering with JSL on the parade include Troup County Parks and Recreation Department, LaGrange-Troup Chamber of Commerce, Downtown Development Authority, Sweetland Amphitheatre and LaGrange Rotary Club.

The patriotic parade through downtown LaGrange is held at 10 a.m. on July 4 and is free and open to anyone 19 and under.

Registration will be announced shortly.