LaGrange Academy holds graduation ceremony

Published 5:16 pm Wednesday, May 23, 2018

The weather outside was dreary, however the atmosphere inside Callaway Auditorium on Tuesday night was anything but, as the LaGrange Academy class of 2018 prepared to walk across the main stage to receive their diplomas with smiles on their faces.

The ceremony began with a vocal performance from five graduating seniors, as Elaina Horlander, Oluwafikayo Oshinowo, Anna Louise Countess, Amna Amir and Kinsington Martin delivered a stirring performance to the crowd for the last time as high school students.

Oshinowo spoke to the crowd early in the ceremony, instructing her fellow graduates to be proud of the accomplishments they have made to this point in their lives and academic careers, but to look toward future goals as well.

“Graduation should not be a day where you cry from sadness,” Oshinowo said. “Instead, it should be a day where you cry from so much joy and laughter that you turn into a tomato. This is a day that celebrates the accomplishments we’ve all made, but has the promise of bigger accomplishments to come.”   

Amir, the class valedictorian, also spoke during the ceremony, encouraging the outgoing class to stay true to what makes each member of the class unique, staying true to their individuality.

“Not only have we embraced who we are individually, but we have come together as a family to embrace each other’s differences and unique qualities,” Amir said. “Not many people are always comfortable being exactly who they are. I hope that each and every one of you will hold on to these qualities as you venture down your own unique path.”

Each graduate was recognized by a member of the faculty prior to receiving their diploma from Head of School Brian Dolinger.

Individual members of the graduating class of 17 were also recognized for various individual awards as well, doled out by faculty.

LaGrange Academy graduates included Amir, Mason Brown, Countess, Emily Dodgen, Laurel Genova, William Holmes, Horlander, Isabelle Kardoes, Randall Kardoes, Kinsington Martin, Oshinowo, Joe Ragland, Reagan Terry, Evan Smith, Clifford Swan, Maya Turner and John Whitlow.