Leadership Troup class of 2018 completes program

Published 7:22 pm Thursday, May 24, 2018

The LaGrange-Troup County Chamber of Commerce recently held a graduation dinner to recognize the 29 local residents who completed the 2017-18 Leadership Troup program.

Sponsored by the chamber, Leadership Troup educated local professionals about the issues and concerns of the community since 1991.

The program was ten months long and includes leadership modules created by The J.W. Fanning Institute for Leadership Development — a public service and outreach unit of the University of Georgia.

“One of the most important things you’ll take away from this class are the relationships you have formed,” Leadership Troup chair Brandon Eley said.

This was the third year of a program developed in conjunction with the Georgia LEADS program of the Georgia Chamber of Commerce and the University of Georgia’s Fanning Institute, whose mission is to grow quality leaders across the state.

The program included sessions focused on local government, health care, education, and tourism.

As is tradition, the class selected four new board members from among its peers.

Joining the board from the 2018 class are Jamey Jackson from Malone Workforce Solutions, Ben Ladd from Emory at LaGrange, Aaron Mabon from True North Investments and Mike Speight from Calumet Bank.

The class also selected the participant who best exhibited leadership skills throughout the program. This year’s honoree was Mike Speight, who was chosen by his peers to attend the James Blanchard Leadership Forum in Columbus.

This year’s graduates and their employers include Kim Banks, LaSwann Beasley, CJ Carter, Chad Cooper, Kara Cooper, Ameia Cotton, Julia Cox-Pearson, Steve Cromer, Becca Eiland, Kellie Farrell, Joshua Harrelson, Teara Harris, Bethany Headrick, Connie Hensler, Arch Hodges, James Hobbs, Regina Ingram, Jackson, Ladd, Liz Lindemann, Mabon, Tanya Pullie, Brittany Simmons, Donna Smoot, Speight, Joe Sumner, Leigh Threadgill, Stephen Watts and Kayla Yeargin.

For more information on leadership programs offered through the Chamber of Commerce, contact LeTisha Smith at (706) 884-8671 or letisha@lagrangechamber.com.