Locals awarded Lukken Memorial Scholarship

Published 7:03 pm Tuesday, September 11, 2018

The Junior Service League of LaGrange honored two Troup County special education teachers as the 2018 Mollie Lukken Memorial Scholarship recipients.

Trissa Nerowski of Clearview Elementary School and Beverly “Nikki” Crawford of Hogansville Elementary School  were recognized at an August meeting of the league’s sustaining members at Courtyard by Marriott in downtown LaGrange. Lukken was a founding member of Junior Service League who, in the 1970s, led pioneering JSL volunteer programs to provide services for students with learning disabilities.

The scholarship, established in 1984 after Lukken’s death in a traffic accident, is presented annually to a local teacher pursuing graduate study in the field of special education.

Nerowski is nearing completion of a doctoral program at Northcentral University and Crawford is pursuing her master’s degree at the University of West Georgia.

“We were very pleased to have two talented recipients who share an outstanding commitment to their students, their schools and to the field of special education,” said Gail Hunnicutt, chairman of the Mollie Lukken Scholarship Committee.

Junior Service League has awarded more than $42,000 to local teachers since the scholarship’s inception.