24 local students inducted into youth council

Published 7:09 pm Wednesday, September 12, 2018

The City of LaGrange inducted 24 local students into the LaGrange Youth Council on Tuesday night.

All of the students on the council live within the LaGrange city limits and attend a variety of local schools including LaGrange High School, LaGrange Academy and Lafayette Christian School were represented by the group. City Attorney Jeff Todd administered an oath of office to the students, and City Manager Meg Kelsey and Mayor Jim Thornton welcomed the students to the group and pinned insignias to the students’ shirts.

“We appreciate all of you being able to serve this year,” Thornton said. “I had an opportunity [Tuesday] afternoon to meet with the new members of the [youth] council along with staff. They had a good bit of time to spend getting oriented, so I look forward to your service this year, and I look forward to seeing you at lots of city functions.”

The students in the group sat through the entire council meeting, and at several points in the meeting Thornton or council members paused to explain parts of the meeting to the group.

The LaGrange Youth Council is an advisory board composed of local youth who provide advice and counsel to the local governing body, according to information released by the city. The youth council will give local youth a formal role in the local decision making process.

The LaGrange City Council will meet again on Sept. 25 at 5:30 p.m. at 208 Ridley Avenue.

The students on the youth council are Caroline Childress, Dazia Potts, Emma Strickland, Jack DeVane, Joshua Smith, Kyla Bedingfield, Lauren Yarbrough, Libby Criswell, Lily Kamat, Lizzie Doerr, Lucy Alford, Luke Daniel, Lydia Alford, Mizya Blackmon, Olivia Smith, Robert Frick, Ruthie Kelsey, Samuel Shepherd, Sophie Myers, Sydney Anderson, Taylor Earnhart, Thomas Lawson and Ujwal Modi.