LaGrange wins county championship

Published 11:21 am Friday, October 12, 2018


Daily News

With Ivorie Smith and Alex Bowie leading the way with individual titles, it was all LaGrange High at the county cross-country meet on Thursday afternoon at Pyne Road Park.

Smith took top honors in the girls’ race, and the top six finishers were all from LaGrange.

The story was the same in the boys’ race, with Bowie leading a contingent of six LaGrange runners across the finish line.

Smith, a freshman, has been a steady runner for LaGrange, and she has been the team’s number three finisher in most of the races.

That changed on Thursday, with Smith finding an extra gear while racing to the top spot with a time of 23 minutes, and two seconds.

“All year, she’s been that steady third girl,” LaGrange coach Chase Wilson said. “And she had it today. Something propelled her.”

Wilson was happy to see the hard work Smith has put in pay dividends.

“She came all summer,” Wilson said. “She never missed a workout all summer. And now you see she’s peaking at the right time. It is cool to see somebody work hard, and it pays off for her.”

The next five runners behind Smith were from LaGrange.

Finishing second through sixth, respectively, were Zamya Rhaney, Anna Doerr, Lauren Farris, Chloe Morman and Zenay Rhaney.

Placing seventh was Lafayette Christian School’s Grace Kelly, and Troup’s Amanda McCartney was eighth.

Shali Hackley of Callaway was ninth, and Lafayette Christian’s Lily Skipworth completed the top 10.

In the boys’ race, Bowie eased to the top spot with a time of 18:17, and he said the course at Pyne Road Park was challenging.

“This is my first time here,” Bowie said. “It was harder than I thought it would be for sure.”

Bowie is having a terrific season, and he is coming off a second-place finish at the Asics Invitational in Douglasville last weekend.

Bowie had a time of 17:04 in that race, and he’s hoping to do better than that at the Region 5-AAAA meet on Oct. 20.

“If I can get under 17 minutes (at region), that would really help my chances of winning,” Bowie said.

Finishing second overall was LaGrange’s Miller Penn.

Penn ran at LaGrange as a freshman before spending his sophomore season at Upson-Lee.

Penn returned to LaGrange for his junior season, and he has been a big addition to the team.

“He was by far (Upson-Lee’s) best runner,” Wilson said. “He didn’t have anybody to push him at all. Now that he’s here, he’s got Alex pushing him, and it’s helping him.”

Placing third for LaGrange was Matt Callaway, who is also a wrestling standout at LaGrange who placed at the state meet in February.

LaGrange’s Johnny McDonald, Alex Martin and Nathan Fritchley placed fourth through sixth, respectively.

Callaway’s Calik Kemp was seventh, and Lafayette Christian School’s Jacob Rocker placed eighth.

Completing the top 10 were two LaGrange runners, Terry Franklin and Aaron Fritchley.



1 –  Ivorie Smith (LaGrange)

2 – Zamya Rhaney (LaGrange)

3 – Anna Doerr (LaGrange)

4 – Lauren Farris (LaGrange)

5 – Chloe Morman (LaGrange)

6 – Zanay Rhaney (LaGrange)

7 – Grace Kelly (Lafayette Christian)

8 – Amanda McCartney (Troup)

9 – Shali Hackley (Callaway)

10 – Lily Skipworth (Lafayette Christian)

11 – Emily Rowlett (Callaway)

12 – Bailey Adams (Troup)

13 – Vivian Streiff (Callaway)

14 – Maddie Summers (Callaway)

15 – Anna Barintine (Troup)

16 – Gabby Nixon (Callaway)

17 – Ella Chu (Callaway)


1 – Alex Bowie (LaGrange)

2 – Miller Penn (LaGrange)

3 – Matt Callaway (LaGrange)

4 – Johnny McDonald (LaGrange)

5 – Alex Martin (LaGrange)

6 – Nathan Fritchley (LaGrange)

7 – Calik Kemp (Callaway)

8 – Jacob Rocker (Lafayette Christian)

9 – Terry Franklin (LaGrange)

10 – Aaron Fritchley (LaGrange)

11- Christian Gay (Troup)

12 – Collin McKeown (LaGrange)

13 – Michael Everett (Callaway)

14 – Jalen Brown (LaGrange)

15 – Chase Arrington (LaGrange)

16 – Ethan Sims (LaGrange)

17 – Will Alred (LaGrange)

18 – Ian Dougherty (Callaway)

19 – Wesley Bartlett (Troup)

20 – Zach Taylor (Troup)

21 – Trey Ketchum (Troup)

22 – Carter Crites (LaGrange)

23 – Lawson Lynd (Troup)

24 – James Burgos (LaGrange)

25 – Julian Santiago (LaGrange)

26 – Cam Larry (LaGrange)

27 – Cade Parnell (Troup)

28 – Tyler Cardwell (Troup)

29 – Maurice Laney (Callaway)

30 – Isaiahs Pavon (LaGrange)

31 – Alec Morrissette (LaGrange)

32 – Isaac Andrews (Troup)

33 – Devin Burger (Callaway)

34 – Carson Crocker (LaGrange)

35 – Alex Brock (LaGrange)

36 – Griffin McLeroy (Lafayette Christian)

37 – John Paul Royster (Callaway)