LaGrange wins second straight region title

Published 12:13 am Saturday, October 27, 2018


Daily News

They did it again.

The LaGrange Grangers raced to the top spot in the Region 5-AAAA cross-country meet to win the title for the second consecutive year.

LaGrange had four of the top 10 finishers to finish well ahead of Cartersville.

LaGrange’s girls’ team had a strong showing as well to finish second behind Chapel Hill.

Troup’s boys’ and girls’ teams also participated, and they each finished seventh.

LaGrange’s Alex Bowie was the top local finisher, and he nearly raced away with the individual title.

Bowie, a junior, posted a time of 16 minutes, 33 seconds to finish second, seven seconds behind Andres Sanchez of Sandy Creek.

LaGrange’s Miller Penn (16:46) raced to a third-place finish, and John McDonald (16:58) and Matthew Callaway (17:09) were seventh and ninth, respectively.

Alex Martin (17:48) was 17th, and Nathan Fritchley (17:58) was 18th.

For Troup, Christian Gay (18:41) completed a successful sophomore season with a 28th-place finish.

Next for Troup were a trio of freshmen, Daniel Martin (19:59), Zach Taylor (20:49) and Wesley Bartlett (20:53).

Troup’s next three finishers were Lawson Lynd (21:51), Tyler Cardwell (23:18) and Isaac Andrews (24:37).

All seven of Troup’s runners will return next season.

In the girls’ race, LaGrange had four of the top 11 finishers.

Freshman Ivorie Smith (10:43), coming off her victory in the county championship, was LaGrange’s top finisher in third place.

Anna Doerr (20:46) was right behind Smith in fourth place, and Zamya Rhaney (21:29) was 10th.

Lauren Farris (21:40) placed 11th, and Zanay Rhaney (22:11) and Chloe Morman (22:18) were 16th and 18th, respectively.

There was also a junior-varsity race, with LaGrange’s boys’ team finishing second.

Collin McKeown (18:18) led LaGrange with a fourth-place finish, Aaron Fritchley (18:24) was sixth, and Jaylen Brown (19:21) was 10th.

LaGrange’s other junior-varsity runners were Charles Arrington (20:08), Ethan Sims (20:23), Carter Crites (21:11), Will Allred (21:25), Julian Santiago (21:58), Alec Morrissette (22:48), Cam Larry (23:04), Alex Brock (24:32) and Carson Crocker (25:35).