Late score lifts Packers

Published 10:55 pm Monday, November 19, 2018


Daily News

They went toe-to-toe, and it was the Ninth Street Fitness Packers getting a late touchdown to beat the Bulldogs 12-6 to walk away with the hard-earned Textile Bowl victory.

With the temperature hovering near the freezing mark, quarterback Yorkbricus Taylor’s 4-yard touchdown run with a little more than a minute remaining proved to be the game-winner as the Packers captured the Troup County Parks and Recreation Commission’s 9-10-year-old title.

Taylor scored both of his team’s touchdowns, and Kaiden James had a scoring run for the Bulldogs.

“We’re very proud of them,” said Bubba England, head coach of the Packers. “We finished what we started.”

The Packers won despite missing one of their top players, Gavon Hart, and England said his presence was felt, even if he wasn’t on the field.

“He’s been one of our main players, and he wasn’t able to play tonight,” Hart said. “He got hurt, and we dedicated that game to him.”

Early on, it looked like the championship game was going to be a shoot-out, with both teams scoring touchdowns on their opening possessions.

The Packers had the ball first, and they scored on a 29-yard touchdown run by Taylor.

It didn’t take the Bulldogs long to answer.

Mckyson Cofield returned the ensuing kickoff all the way to the 4-yard line, and James scored on the next play, and the game was deadlocked at 6-6.

The defenses took over from there, and it remained a 6-6 game until the Packers gained possession close to the goal line following a short punt.

Taylor’s 4-yard touchdown run gave the Packers the 12-6 lead with 1:04 remaiing.

James had runs of 24 and 16 yards to put the Bulldogs deep in Packers’ territory before time ran out.


TEAM MEMBERS: Alontae Moss, Vinyatte Davidson, Jaiden Menefield, Jacob Jones, Jamarrion Clark, Gavon Hart, Yorkbricus Taylor, Monderious McFarland, Dequarious Gates, Kadon Goss, DaMarceion Slaughter, Carson Marasco, Almani Green, Colt White, Jordan Banks, Tucker Sides, Wade England, Blaine Hardgrove, Omari Baker and Adarius Walker

COACHES: Bubba England (head coach), Brandon Taylor, Toby Sides and David England


TEAM MEMBERS: Ky’llge McFarland, Christon Kennedy, Kieron Pope, Kaiden James, Ethan Duffield, Brody Douhne, Jackson Jones, Cornelius Brown, Darius Turner, Jamarcus Kennedy, Riley Cockrell, Jaquinton Williams, Jhmarion Johnson, Drew Burch, Edward Facile, Mckyson Cofield, Jayden Hart, Gavin Laney, Collier Copeland and Jacob Rice

COACHES: Carlos Poythress (head coach), Joe Cameron, Joshua Duffield and Ayden Thornton