Long Cane Middle School teacher wins free cruise

Published 11:00 am Thursday, April 25, 2019

It’s been quite a month for Long Cane Middle School teacher Traviera Sewell.

Sewell was named the Troup County School System’s teacher of the year in March, and on Wednesday it was announced that she won a free cruise for two from Norwegian Cruise Line.

The cruise line announced the winners of its Giving Joy campaign on Wednesday, and Sewell, a fourth-year social studies teacher at TCSS, was selected. A press release from Norwegian said the 30 winners were chosen based on their inspiring stories and the outstanding work they’ve done in the classroom to celebrate and educate students on the joy of travel and education.

“March was such an amazing month for me,” Sewell said. “I did not expect to be named Troup County Teacher of the Year and was thrilled when I was named the winner. The following day, I received news that I had been nominated to win a free cruise for teachers through the Norwegian Cruise Line. I was notified recently that I was a winner, and would be receiving the free cruise awarded to 30 teachers throughout the United States and Canada.”

The winners were rewarded with a seven-day cruise for two and accommodations and airfare to attend the award ceremony taking place in Seattle on May 3, 2019, where three grand prize winners will win $10,000, $15,000 or $25,000 toward their respective schools.

The vote was held from March 12 to April 12 and the cruise line received nominations from people all over the world. According to Norwegian, there were over 2 million votes cast and 12,000 nominations.

“I am grateful to have been supported by the Troup County School System, my administrators, fellow teachers and coworkers, family and friends, students and their families, and all of the support received from Troup County and the surrounding areas.” Sewell said. “Thanks for your vote. I am very humbled and excited to be accepting this award at the Norwegian Cruise Line Gala on May 3, all the way in Seattle, Washington. I look forward to representing Troup County when I attend the award ceremony.”


Here’s the full list of winners:
·         Nicole Conlisk – One World Middle School – Bronx, New York

  • Jason Seaman – Noblesville West Middle School – Noblesville, Indiana
  • Ashley Kuzma – McDowell Intermediate High School – Erie, Pennsylvania
  • Lindsey Ward – Northland Pines-Eagle River Elementary – Eagle River, Wisconsin
  • Kendall Carrier – Manatee High School – Bradenton, Florida
  • Samantha Guglieri – Woodland Avenue Elementary School – Hicksville, New York
  • Noelle Files – Corcoran High School – Syracuse, New York
  • Erin Degnan – Walter S. Boardman Elementary School – Oceanside, New York
  • Jonathan Chiaramonte – Sachem North High School – Lake Ronkonkoma, New York
  • Christopher Wikfors – Randall Middle School – Lithia, Florida
  • Traviera Sewell – Long Cane Middle School – LaGrange, Georgia
  • Arnel Dela Cruz, Miyamura High School – Gallup, New Mexico
  • Monte Syrie, Cheney High School – Cheney, Washington
  • Ashley Chauvin, Young Audiences Charter School – Gretna, Louisiana
  • Nancy Kawaja, Catholic Education Centre – Ottawa, Ontario
  • Jordan Ryan Price, Lincoln Performing Arts Elementary – Louisville, Kentucky
  • Amber Pereira, Emerick Elementary School – Ashburn, Virginia
  • William Becker, Ronan Middle School – Ronan, Montana
  • Rachael Spires, Imagine Schools at Town Center – Palm Coast, Florida
  • Rachelle Jodie Durrant, Uintah High School – Vernal, Utah
  • Melissa Owens, Colonial Intermediate Unit 20 – Easton, Pennsylvania
  • Christopher Shepherd, Jackson Middle School – Albuquerque, New Mexico
  • Brian J. O’Neill, Patchogue-Medford High School – Medford, New York
  • Alexandra Durr, George Washington Carver Elementary School – Coral Gables, Florida
  • Shaughn Thomas, Lake Olympia Middle School – Missouri City, Texas
  • Kate Drury, Vestaburg Community School – Vestaburg, Michigan
  • Ashley Lantes, Windy Hill Middle School – Clermont, Florida
  • Beth Devlin, Dutch Lane Elementary School – Hicksville, New York
  • Bethany McAfee, Sheridan Technical High School – Fort Lauderdale, Florida
  • Wendolyn Camp, Dodge County High School – Eastman, Georgia