TCSS announces school nominees for Teacher of the Year

Published 6:22 pm Wednesday, October 16, 2019

On Wednesday, after weeks of school-level voting, 24 teachers in Troup County School System (TCSS) received the news that they will be in the running for the 2020-2021 Teacher of the Year. These teachers will now move on to the next portion of the nomination process by completing essays for submission. 

According to TCSS, this program recognizes teachers each year who display excellence and high standards for the teaching profession. Each elementary school and THINC College & Career Academy designate one teacher for the honor while all middle and high schools designate two teachers each.  

All nominee’s complete applications describing their professional preparation and experience, as well as answer questions pertaining to their philosophy of teaching and practical applications. Roughly ten professionals from the school system, community, and Partners in Education will be tapped to participate in a blind evaluation of the nominees’ written applications. 

After the blind evaluation process, three system finalists will be named – one representing elementary, middle, and high school levels. 

The top three candidates are then judged by education professionals who do not reside in Troup County. 

They will observe classroom instruction, conduct interviews and review the finalist’s written applications. Finally, one of the top three finalists will be named the TCSS Teacher of the Year in March during an afternoon reception where family, colleagues and friends can enjoy the moment with them. TCSS’ current Teacher of the Year, Traviera Sewell from Long Cane Middle School, is currently vying for the state level honor which will be announced in May 2020.

The nominees from each school are:

  • Berta Weathersbee Elementary School, Kristin Copeland
  • Callaway Elementary School, Tracy Bowden
  • Clearview Elementary School, Elizabeth (Gail) Gilmartin
  • Ethel W. Kight Elementary School, Wendy Aldridge
  • Franklin Forest Elementary School, Kirk Slay
  • Hillcrest Elementary School, Casi Napier
  • Hogansville Elementary School, Leigh T. Bailey
  • Hollis Hand Elementary School, Jill Kemp
  • Long Cane Elementary School, Lyndsey Jenkins
  • Rosemont Elementary School, Dina Thomas
  • West Point Elementary School, Yvetta Abercrombie
  • Callaway Middle School, Courtney Agurs
  • Callaway Middle School, Megan Marlowe
  • Gardner Newman Middle School, De’sa Fuller
  • Gardner Newman Middle School, Lori Joy Luke-Hill
  • Long Cane Middle School, Jud Newman
  • Long Cane Middle School, Christine Cunningham
  • Callaway High School, Bonnie Mapp
  • Callaway High School, Jamal Bruce
  • Long Cane Middle School, Christine Cunningham
  • Callaway High School, Bonnie Mapp
  • Callaway High School, Jamal Bruce
  • LaGrange High School, Mitzi Norton
  • LaGrange High School, Lindsay Trinrud
  • THINC College & Career Academy, Susan Hinson
  • Troup High School, Rick McMahan
  • Troup High School, Hannah Frady