GHSA announces new classifications

Published 1:51 pm Tuesday, November 5, 2019


Daily News

It’ll be the status quo for Callaway, LaGrange and Troup.

The Georgia High School Association released its classification alignments for the 2020 to 2022 school years, and the three local public high schools will remain where they’ve been for the past several years.

Schools do have the option of appealing their classification assignments, and schools can also choose to play up a classification.

Once the appeals have been heard and the final decisions have been made, the GHSA will come up with the new regions for each of the state’s seven classifications.

LaGrange and Troup will remain in Class AAAA, and Callaway will stay in Class AA.

In Class AAAA, some schools that have been familiar opponents for LaGrange and Troup over the past four years have moved to different classifications.

Cartersville, which has been in Region 5-AAAA with LaGrange and Troup for the past four school years, is moving up to Class AAAAA.

Also making the move to a higher classification are a handful of private schools including Blessed Trinity, St. Pius X, and Woodward Academy.

Blessed Trinity and Cartersville have combined to win the past four Class AAAA state championships in football.

Among the current Region 5-AAAA teams that will stay in Class AAAA are LaGrange, Troup, Cedartown, and Central-Carroll.

Some other near-by schools that could be in a region with LaGrange and Troup are Columbus, Hardaway, Shaw, Upson-Lee and Spalding County.

In all, there are 57 schools slotted to be in Class AAAA.

In Class AA, Callaway will likely remain in the same region with long-time rival Heard County.

Other current Region 5-AA teams that are staying in Class AA include Bremen and Temple.

Haralson County, which is dropping down to Class AA, could end up in a region with those five teams.

Callaway also used to be in a region with some of the Rome schools, so that’s a possibility as well

Rome schools in Class AA include Pepperell, Model and Coosa.

There are 57 schools in Class AA.