LHS, Troup players make all-region team

Published 12:06 pm Friday, November 15, 2019


Daily News

Troup and LaGrange are well-represented on the all-Region 5-AAAA team that was announced earlier this week.

Sixteen members of the Troup football team made the all-region team, and that includes eight first-team players.

Eleven LaGrange players earned spots on the all-region team, and two of them are first-team selections.

The region’s player of the year is Kobe Pryor, a running back and defensive lineman who plans on signing with Clemson.

The offensive player of the year is Sandy Creek’s Matt Williams, and the co-defensive players of the year are Central-Carroll’s Shance Bruce and Chapel Hill’s Bradyn Swinson.

All-region team

Troup High

First team

Running back – Trey Williams

Tight end – Luke Purnell

Offensive line – Michael Irvin

Offensive line – Royce White

Defensive line – Jeremiah Holston

Linebacker – Jabralin Gooden

Defensive back – Devon Hill

Returner – Mark-Anthony Dixon

Second team

Quarterback – Kobe Hudson

Wide receiver – Zy Varner

Offensive line – Will Cooley

Defensive line – Andy Boykin

Linebacker – A.J. Tucker

Honorable Mention

Wide receiver – Nick Schweizer

Defensive lineman – Xavier Clarke

Defensive lineman – Jordan Adams

LaGrange High

First team

Linebacker – Qua Bowles

Defensive back – Montavious Martin

Second team

Offensive line – Will Flowers

Defensive line – Thad Dixon

Defensive back – Charles Miller

Tight end – Cole Crawford

Punter – Charles Crawford

Honorable mention

Quarterback – Charles Crawford

Defensive end – Jacquez Smith

Linebacker – Andraka Martin

Offensive line – Keone Milton

Wide receiver – A.J. Traylor