Callaway’s Dixon wins Ironman competition

Published 1:16 pm Friday, August 14, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...


Daily News

Charlie Dixon, who figures to be a critical member of the Callaway High football team this season, was the man to beat during the team’s annual ironman competition.

Each year at the start of preseason practice, Callaway’s players compete in a number of different events designed to measure everything from speed, to strength, to agility, to endurance.

The points are tabulated after the nine events have been completed, and an ironman champion is crowned.

This year, that honor went to Dixon, a senior who in previous years has excelled as a running back and a linebacker.

Last season, Dixon not only started at linebacker, but he helped the offense keep rolling when star running back Cartavious “Tank” Bigsby had to miss a handful of games with an injury.

Dixon figures to get the bulk of the carries at running back, and head coach Wiggins is also counting on him to be someone the other players can look up to.

As preseason practice got underway, Wiggins was pleased with the way Dixon took charge.

“I thought Charlie did a good job of stepping up and being vocal and helping lead our practice,” Wiggins said.

Dylan Stephens finished second in the ironman, while defensive back Jalin Shephard and offensive lineman and linebacker Austin Thomas finished tied for third.

Rounding out the top five was linebacker Laquize Gilbert, and Karmelo Burton, Taylor Smith, Carlos Billingslea, Cam Smith and Osiris Rivas completed the top 10.

There’s a separate competition for players that weigh 200 pounds or more, and Kier Jackson took top honors, followed by Nate Lee, Keshawn Suggs, Lathan Patterson and Chauncey Bradford. The next five finishers in the Iron Hawg competition were Sam Williams, Quay Whitfield, Amarion Copeland, Elijah Gunn and Josh Perry.

A third competition is strictly for freshmen, and Jordan King was the top finisher followed by Treyonn Tucker, Cameron Gunn, Fred Tigner, Deshun Coleman, Michael Alexander, Jay Young, Demondre Woodyard, Cameron Tucker and Zalven Hart.