Only one contested race in LaGrange municipal elections (so far), three up for Hogansville mayor

Published 5:37 pm Wednesday, August 18, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

With two days left in qualifying, there’s only one contested race in LaGrange’s municipal elections.

As of Wednesday afternoon, Mayor Jim Thornton was the only qualifier for the office of mayor, incumbent Tom Gore was the only qualifier in council seat 1A and incumbent Jim Arrington was the only qualifier for council seat 1B.

In the only contested race in LaGrange, incumbent Nathan Gaskin is being challenged by Israel Barsh in the race for council seat 2A.

Hogansville Mayor Bill Stankiewicz has qualified again to run for mayor and currently has two challengers – George Bailey and Angela Price.

On the council, Robert Conway and Michael Taylor have qualified for the post 1 seat. Reginald Jackson currently holds that seat on the council.

In post 2 on the council, incumbent Marichal Price has qualified.

On the West Point Council, four qualified for three at-large positions, meaning the candidates with the top three vote totals get the spot.

Incumbents Gloria Marshall, Joe Downs and Alanteo “Henry” Hutchinson have all qualified, as has Joel Finlay.

Qualifying ended in West Point today. Qualifying ends in Hogansville and LaGrange on Friday at 4:30 p.m. ET.