Municipal election closes, reveals incumbents and challengers

Published 8:00 am Saturday, August 21, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

All eyes will be on Hogansville in November, as four individuals have qualified to run for the position of mayor.

Qualifying for the upcoming municipal election closed across Troup County on Friday and Hogansville had the most contested races by far. In the mayor’s race, incumbent Bill Stankiewicz will be challenged by Angela Price, George Bailey and Jake Ayers.

Hogansville council post 1 will have a new representative, replacing Reggie Jackson, who did not run for re-election. Robert Conway will face off with Michael Anthony Taylor, Jr. for that position.

In the post 2 race, incumbent Marichal Price will be challenged by Matthew Morgan.

In LaGrange, Mayor Jim Thornton, council 1A representative Tom Gore and council 1B representative Jim Arrington will all run unopposed.

In the 2A seat, Nathan Gaskin will be opposed by Israel Barsh. That’s the only contested race in LaGrange.

In West Point, incumbents Henry Hutchson, Gloria Marshall and Joe Downs all qualified. They’ll be challenged by Joel Finlay. West Point races are at-large, so the top three vote getters will be elected.

The LDN will have more coverage on the local elections in the weeks ahead, including more information on each candidate.

The election is Nov. 2.