Early voting begins Tuesday

Published 7:30 pm Monday, October 11, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Early voting starts Tuesday, Oct. 12, and will continue until Oct. 29 for the upcoming municipal elections in Troup County. Voting will be available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. at the Troup County Government Center. Citizens will also be able to vote on two Saturdays, Oct. 16 and 23, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. this year.

Depending on where you live, there are numerous competitive races on the ballot this year.

The race for Troup County Commission District 5 features Kendall Butler, Travis D. Hart, Jimmy D McCamey, Norma M. Tucker, and Ernest Ward. They are vying to fill the position held by the late Richard English for more than 40 years.

In LaGrange, one council seat is contested, as incumbent Nathan Gaskin goes against Israel Barsh.

Hogansville will be voting for mayor with incumbent Bill Stankiewicz, Angela Price, George Bailey, Jake Ayres running for the position. On the city council, Robert Conway and Michael Taylor Jr are running for post one. Marichal Price and Matthew Morgan are running for post two.

Forums were held last week to discuss where each candidate stood on issues such as education, community engagement, and neighborhood maintenance.

The West Point City Council has four candidates for three seats. Incumbents Gloria Marshall, Joe Downs and Henry Hutchinson are vying for their seats against challenger Joel Finlay.

Election day will be on Nov. 2, 2021.

To find your voting precinct for election day and to see sample ballots visit www.mvp.sos.ga.gov.