Early voting ongoing for District 5 county commissioner seat

Published 4:57 pm Monday, November 15, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Early voting for the District 5 commissioner seat runoff election began Tuesday.

The seat, formally held by the late Richard English Jr. for over 40 years, is being sought after by area residents Norma Tucker and Jimmy McCamey who beat out three other competitors in the election held earlier this month.

Tucker received 265 votes, or 35% of the vote and McCamey received 245 votes, or 32%, of the vote. Ernest Ward had the third-most votes with 114 votes, or 15 percent. Kendall Butler had 84 votes and Travis Hart finished with 49 votes.

Early voting will be held from November 15, 2021 to November 24, 2021, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at 100 Ridley Ave. Early voting will also be open on Saturday, November 20, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the same location. Election day will be on Nov. 30.  Election Day polling location hours are 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Voting precincts this election are located at:

  • Administration Building – Administration Building 900 Dallis St., LaGrange
  • Hammett Road – The Faith Baptist Church on 552 Hammett Road, LaGrange
  • Griggs Center – Griggs Recreation Center on 716 Glen Robertson St., LaGrange
  • Rosemont – Troup County Fire Administration Building, 2495 Hamilton Road, LaGrange
  • Gardner Newman – Board of Education Building at 100 N. Davis Road, LaGrange
  • Highland – Troup County High School, 1920 Hamilton Road, LaGrange
  • Northside – Hope Academy, 200 Mooty Bridge Road, LaGrange

To find your voting precinct for election day and to see sample ballots visit www.mvp.sos.ga.gov.