West Georgia Technical College names award winners

Published 4:20 am Friday, December 3, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

West Georgia Technical College recently named Iveta Kral, an engineering technology student from Sharpsburg, as its 2022 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership winners. It also named Murphy Campus Clinical Laboratory Technology instructor Dr. Phyllis Ingham as its 2022 Rick Perkins Award winner.

Winners were named Nov. 30 at a banquet honoring finalists for both awards.

Both Kral and Ingham will compete against winners from other Georgia technical colleges in a regional competition in February before participating in the state competition, held in Atlanta in April.

“I am so proud of Iveta and Phyllis for their selection as West Georgia Technical College’s representatives in the GOAL and Rick Perkins Award competitions,” West Georgia Technical College President Dr. Julie Post said. “They represent the very best of the outstanding educators and amazing students at West Georgia Tech. On behalf of our students, staff and stakeholders, I offer best wishes for our two winners in the next phase of the competitions.”

Kral was nominated by speech instructor Beverly Kirk.

In her nomination, Kirk wrote, “Iveta excels in her own coursework and expresses empathy toward her classmates. Often she sought out her quieter more reserved classmates to draw them into the conversation and help them gain self-confidence.”

GOAL is a statewide program of the Technical College System of Georgia, which honors excellence in academics and leadership among the state’s technical college students.

The Rick Perkins Award is designed to recognize and honor technical college instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership in their fields.

GOAL coordinator and Dean of Students Melinda Hofius said, “Iveta is a perfect ambassador for technical education, and I know her story will inspire women just like her to enroll in STEM programs. I’m so excited she’ll be representing us at the Regional and State competitions this year!”

The other three finalists for the WGTC GOAL award were Early Childhood Care & Education student Amber Cotton, Clinical Laboratory Technology student Joshua Mize and Early Childhood Care & Education student Tenee Terry.

Ingham was nominated for the Rick Perkins Award by Nikki Gilbert, Dean of Health Sciences. In her nomination, Gilbert wrote, “Dr. Ingham is well-respected among her peers and in industry due to her dedicated involvement in field. She is a great ambassador for the college and for technical education.”

Ingham was selected out of a field which included six other WGTC instructors — registered nursing instructor Tara Alsobrook, precision manufacturing instructor John Callaway, mathematics instructor TaTanisha Jackson, computer information systems instructor Tara Shackleford, English instructor Kyle Taylor and nurse ride instructor Sara Worsley.

First launched in 1971, GOAL focuses on student excellence in technical education. A panel of judges selects one student as the state GOAL winner, which is announced at the state competition in April. The 2021 state GOAL winner is West Georgia Tech’s own Elizabeth Rodriguez.