New, returning candidates qualify for May primaries

Published 9:00 pm Friday, March 11, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

There will be some new names on the ballot this year when Troup County residents vote in the May 24 primary.

Qualifying for the upcoming election ended on Friday, with several local and state races highlighting what voters can expect to see on the ballot.

Incumbent Troup County Commission Chairman Patrick Crews, a Republican, will have a primary opponent in Phil Nations.

The race for County Commissioner District 5 will be on the ballot for the second time since November, when Jimmy McCamey defeated Norma Tucker in a run-off.

This time McCamey will face Joe Kirkland in the Democratic primary for District 5.

The Troup County School Board will have two new members and neither will have an opponent. Newcomer Anne O’Brien is the only candidate in District 4 and newcomer Kevin Dunn is the only qualifier in District 7. Becky Grubbs is the current representative for District 4 and Tanya Jones-Cameron is the current representative for District 7. School board positions are non-partisan.

In District 1 for Troup County School Board, incumbent Allen Simpson is the only candidate.

Incumbent Vickie Sue McWaters is the only candidate for judge of magistrate court.

Redistricting has changed some of the statewide districts in Georgia for 2022.

Republican David Huddleston is the lone candidate in District 72, which includes Heard County and parts of Carroll and Troup County.

District 136 will be a battle between incumbent David Jenkins and Kenneth Murphy, both Republicans. District 136 is divided by Coweta, Meriwether and Troup County.

There are two candidates in District 137 — Republican Justin Rickett and Democrat Debbie Buckner. District 137 includes portions of Troup, Muscogee, Talbot and Meriwether County.

Incumbent Vance Smith is the lone candidate in District 138, which includes portions of Troup, Harris and Muscogee County.

At the federal level, incumbent Republican Drew Ferguson will face a primary challenger in Jared Craig. Democrat Val Almonord also qualified.