Winners named in 2022 Mr. and Miss THS

Published 9:00 am Saturday, March 26, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Mr. and Mrs. Troup High School Scholarship Competition returned Thursday night. By the night’s end, several Troup County high schoolers walked away with honors that will follow them to their selected colleges, and kudos for the organizations they represented.

Troup High School Principal Niki Watts gave the opening statement, speaking highly of the participating students’ achievements.

“One of the most awarding components of this job is to celebrate [and] recognize the talent and the performances of our students,” Watts said. “One of the most special things about [the competition] is that we get to celebrate the all-around student, the true exemplar of what it means to be a Troup High School Tiger.”

Troup High School Social Studies Department Chair Chance Giddens and 2021 Mr. THS winner Hayes Gill provided commentary throughout the event.

Sponsored by the THS Student Council, the 34 participants, five of which participated virtually prior to the competition, underwent a pre-event interview and an application process to introduce themselves to the judges. During the competition, participants introduced themselves to the audience and answered a thought-provoking question, such as “what would you change if you were president?” and “what are some of the qualities you look for when choosing a friend?” Participants were judged based on their articulation and overall performance.

Taking home the titles of Mr. and Miss THS were Trey Ketchum, who represented student council and Sarah Blanks, who represented the National Honor Society.

Ketchum additionally won the Mr. THS Scholarship/ Leadership Category.

Blanks additionally won the Miss THS Presentation Category and the Miss THS Scholarship/ Leadership Category.

The other winners were as follows:

  • Mr. THS Presentation Category: Grant Sanders, who represented Key Club.
  • Lilly Kate Doughman, who represented Student Council, won the Miss THS Interview Category and was the first runner-up for Miss THS.
  • Westley Bartlett, who represented Interact club, won the Mr. THS Interview Category and was the first runner-up for Mr. THS.
  • Miss Congeniality 2022: Anna Purnell, who represented Competition Cheerleaders.
  • Jacob Bearden, who represented Future Farmers of America, won Mr. Congeniality 2022 and was the Second runner-up for Mr. THS.
  • Third runner-ups for Mr. and Miss THS were Zachary Taylor, who represented Chick-fil-A Leadership Academy, and Gianna Pacelli, who represented Swim Team.
  • The second runner-up for Miss THS was Berkley Noles, who represented volleyball.