Gallery: Racers compete in LaGrange Cycling Classic for Speed Week

Published 10:30 pm Monday, April 25, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The LaGrange Cycling Classic returned for its second ride Sunday as riders from all over the world competed for top spots in the tight-knit criterium encircling Main St. and Bull St.

Racers were judged on their lap totals compared to their times and entered into the competition as a group of at least four members. The two main races for the event were the Women’s PRO 1/2/3 and the Men’s PRO 1/2/3.

Coming in first for the Men’s PRO ½ Race was Clever Martinez of New Jersey. Martinez and his team were sponsored by Miami Blazers on Strava. Martinez came in first at 45 laps and a total time of 58 minutes. Martinez competed against 66 other racers.

Jennifer Valente, an unspecified United States competitor, came in first in the Women’s PRO 1/2/3 at 1:04:48 and 42 laps. Valente and her team were sponsored by Virginia’s Blue Ridge TWEI. She competed against 37 other female racers.

The LaGrange Cycling Classic is one of the newest additions to the Speed Week Series, a multi-race competition with host cities across Georgia and South Carolina each spring for 10 days. LaGrange was first included in the event last August after a competing Georgia city was unable to participate. Speed Week combines nearly $100,000 in total prize money for individual races, divided equally among professional men and women.

A special edition this year was a race for juniors, ages 9 through 14 and 15 through 18, and three children’s races broken down 3-4, 5-6, and 7-8. The children’s races were prelude races for the main events and were awarded stickers in lieu of medals.

Children’s Race winners were as followed:

  • 3 & 4 year olds- 2 participants-
    • 1st- Bristol Hewett
    • 2nd- Nilah Gore
  • 5 & 6 year olds- 7 participants
    • 1st- William Owensby
    • 2nd- Beau Morris
    • 3rd- Evan Brown
    • Others racing: John Scanlon, Ohanna Kheria, Gunner Johnson, Larkin Selbie
  • 7 & 8 year olds- 8 participants
    • 1st- Zane Traylor
    • 2nd- Milo Hammock
    • 3rd- Owen Selbie
    • Others racing:  Leo Scanlon, Owyn Wojnar, Drew Brown, Roxen Adamson, Veer Pandya

Speed Week will finish this year after visits in Augusta, Walterboro, Athens and College Park.