What’s on the ballot? A reminder of what you’ll see Tuesday when voting

Published 11:00 pm Friday, May 20, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

When voters go to the polls on Tuesday in Troup County, they will see a jampacked ballot with many local races.

Locally, seats for positions such as board of education, county commission and magistrate court are on the ballot, but there are also several statewide and federal primaries that will be decided.

To check your voting precinct, visit https://mvp.sos.ga.gov/s/. Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m. A sample ballot is available on the Troup County Facebook page.

Here’s a look at many of the races on the ballot:


There are three seats on the Troup County School Board up for election, although not everyone will see these on their ballot. Only voters who live in districts 1,4 or 7 will see a school board race on their ballot. The school board is a non-partisan election, so the winners Tuesday are the new school board representatives.

In District 1, incumbent Allen Simpson III is running unchallenged to hold his seat. In District 4, Anne O’Brien is running unchallenged to replace outgoing board member Rebecca Grubbs. In District 7, Kevin Dunn is also running unchallenged to replace outgoing Tanya Cameron.


The race for County Commission Chairman features Phil Nations challenging the incumbent, Patrick Crews, for his seat. Both candidates are Republicans.

In District 5, incumbent Dr. Jimmy McCamey will face fellow Democrat challenger Joe Kirkland. McCamey won the District 5 seat in a special election in November following the death of the seat’s previous incumbent, Richard English, Jr.


In other contested local races, Democratic candidates Frederick Manley and Ellen Wright will be on the ballot in the Senate 29 race, with the winner facing off against incumbent Republican Randy Robertson, who is unopposed in the primary. In the house race for District 136, incumbent Republican David Jenkins is being challenged by Kenneth Murphy.

Incumbent Vickie Sue McWaters is running unchallenged to be the Judge of the Magistrate Court. McWaters has been the magistrate court judge since 1987. McWaters is a nonpartisan candidate.


Statewide races on the ballot will include Republican governor candidates David Perdue, Brian Kemp and Kandiss Taylor, as well as Democrat Stacey Abrams.

For the Georgia Senate seat, Democrat incumbent Raphael Warnock will be challenged by fellow Democrat Tamara Johnson-Shealey. On the Republican side the candidates are Gary Black, Josh Clark, Kelvin King, Jonathan McColumn, Latham Saddler and Herschel Walker.

For Georgia Secretary of State, Republican incumbent Brad Raffensperger will be challenged by Jody Hice, Torri M. Hudson and David Belle Isle. Democrats in this race are Dee Dawkins-Haigler, John Eaves,Floyd Griffin, Bee Nguyen and Michael Owens.

State seats are also be challenged for U.S. House Georgia District 3, lt. governor; attorney general, state superintendent of schools and several others.