Downtown hosts third annual LaGrange Cycling Classic

Published 6:35 pm Monday, April 24, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On Sunday, the streets of Downtown LaGrange were once again filled with cyclists of all ages for the LaGrange Cycling Classic.

LaGrange has hosted the closed-loop, multi-lap circuit races for the past three years. The race series is part of the USA Criterium Speed Week Series.

Speed Week kicked off in Athens on Friday and will continue through April 30 with races throughout Georgia. LaGrange was the second stop on the race tour. Other race locations include Union City, College Park, Peachtree Corners, Hapeville and Spartanburg, SC.

More than a dozen teams from all over the world came to LaGrange to compete for $25,000 worth of prize money throughout the races.

The local races began on Sunday afternoon around 2 p.m. with a combined juniors race with competitors aged 9 to 18, followed by masters races with 40, 50 and 60-plus competitors, children’s races, and men’s and women’s amateur races.

The night was closed out by women’s and men’s professional races with $5,000 prizes.

Fergus Arthur, of Indiana, won the Men’s Pro 1-2 race with a time of 58:47.2. Bryan Gomez finished second and Jordan Arley Parra Arias took third.

Canadian Olympian Leah Kirchmann won the Women’s Pro 1-2-3 race with a time of 1:01:34.5, edging out second-place winner Matilda Raynolds and Daniely Garcia in third place.

Other winners in the non-professional categories include:

4 Mason Crabbe (Junior 9-14)

4 Noah Smith (Junior 15-18)

4 Emile Abraham (Masters 40+)

4 Kirk Corsello (Masters 50-60+)

4 Grace Formichella (Women Cat 4-5)

4 Nicholas Chatel (Men Cat 4-5)

4 Madeline Wayman (Women Cat 3-4)

4 Julien Ruhe (Men Cat 3-4)

The bike racing classic has become an annual tradition for downtown LaGrange, as hundreds of renowned cyclists turn Bull and Main Streets into a free downtown block party with an afterparty and VIP events held at Wild Leap and Del’Avant.