Register to vote now if you haven’t for upcoming city elections

Published 4:06 pm Monday, October 9, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

For those wanting to vote in the upcoming municipal elections, it’s not too late to register to vote, but you’ll have to hurry. Registration ends on Tuesday.

Election Supervisor Andy Harper advises that eligible voters can register in person at the elections office within the Troup County Government Center until 5 p.m. on Tuesday. Online registrations through the state website will be accepted until midnight.

Early voting will begin next week on Monday, Oct. 16. Advanced in-person voting will be held Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. until Nov.3. 

Weekend early voting days will be held on Saturday, Oct. 21, and Saturday, Oct. 28 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Early voters in LaGrange and Hogansville will vote at the Troup County Government Center on Ridley Ave. in LaGrange. West Point early voters can cast their ballots in advance at the West Point Technology Center on O G Skinner Dr. in West Point.

An absentee voter drop box is also located at the Troup County Government Center. Absentee voter applications must be received by Oct. 27.

A total of 20 candidates will face off for 11 council seats on Nov. 7.

In LaGrange, incumbent District 1C Councilman Mark Mitchell will face off against Curtis Brown, Jr. Incumbent District 2B Councilman Leon Childs Jr. will face off against Travis Hart. Councilman Quay Boddie will be running unopposed for his District 2C seat.

Four candidates in Hogansville have qualified to run for three council seats. Incumbent Mandy Neese will run against Bridget Markeda Phillips for the Post 3 seat. Mark Ayers will face off against Adrain (AJ) Porter and Drew Meza for the Post 4 seat. Jason E. Baswell and Kandis Strickland will face off for the Post 5 being vacated by Toni Striblin, who isn’t seeking reelection.

In West Point, Council Member Deedee Williams will challenge Incumbent Mayor Steve Tramell for the mayoral seat. 

Three at-large council seats will also be up for grabs in West Point, including Williams’ seat. West Point does not have council districts so the top three vote-getters will win the seats. Incumbents Sandra Thornton and Gerald Ledbetter will seek to retain their current seats against challengers Andra Haynes, Arron Lewis II, Sean Erique Moore and Kevin Patrick.