Early voting has begun for municipal elections but turnout is low

Published 7:00 am Saturday, October 21, 2023

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Early in-person voting has begun at the Troup County Government Center for LaGrange and Hogansville elections and at the West Point Technology Center for West Point.

Early voting began on Oct. 16 and will continue Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. until Nov.3. Weekend early voting days will be held on Saturday, Oct. 21, and Saturday, Oct. 28 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Early voters in LaGrange and Hogansville can vote at the Troup County Government Center on Ridley Ave. in LaGrange. West Point early voters can cast their ballots in advance at the West Point Technology Center on O G Skinner Dr. in West Point.

As of the close of early voting on Friday, a relatively low number of votes have been cast. Less than 300 votes have been cast throughout the county, with 213 cast at the Government Center and 77 in West Point.

LaGrange had 205 early votes where incumbent District 1C Councilman Mark Mitchell is facing off against Curtis Brown, Jr. and Incumbent District 2B Councilman Leon Childs Jr. is competing against Travis Hart. 

Hogansville has only had eight early votes so far. Four candidates in Hogansville have qualified to run for three council seats. Incumbent Mandy Neese is running against Bridget Markeda Phillips for the Post 3 seat. Mark Ayers is facing off against Adrain (AJ) Porter and Drew Meza for the Post 4 seat. Jason E. Baswell and Kandis Strickland will face off for the Post 5 being vacated by Toni Striblin, who isn’t seeking reelection.

West Point has had 77 early votes as of Friday evening. In West Point, Council Member Deedee Williams is challenging Incumbent Mayor Steve Tramell for the mayoral position. 

Three at-large council seats are also up for grabs in West Point, including Williams’ seat. Incumbents Sandra Thornton and Gerald Ledbetter will seek to retain their current seats against challengers Andra Haynes, Arron Lewis II, Sean Erique Moore and Kevin Patrick.