City swears in council members, makes annual appointments

Published 10:26 am Thursday, January 11, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

During the first LaGrange City Council meeting of 2024, the council swore in a trio of incumbent members and appointed the annual slew of board and agency appointments.

Council members Mark Mitchell, Leon Childs and Quay Boddie were sworn into office by City Attorney Jeff Todd on Tuesday evening. All three members are returning to their council seats after earning re-election in November.

The council also approved the city’s annual slate of board and agency appointments.

Councilman Jim Arrington was selected as Mayor Pro-Tem for 2024. He will step in to lead council meetings if Mayor Willie Edmondson is unavailable.

Other appointments include:

4 Judge James Baker was reappointed to a one-year term as municipal court judge.

4 Warner Bankston was reappointed to a five-year term on the Construction Board of Adjustments and Appeals.

4 Rhashad Little was reappointed to a five-year term on the LaGrange Development Authority. 

4 Jeff Brown and Frank McRae were reappointed to four-year terms on the Development Authority of the City of LaGrange.

4 Mark Mitchell, Willie Edmondson, Tom Gore, Nathan Gaskin, Jim Arrington, Leon Childs, Quay Boddie and Patrick Bowie were appointed to one-year terms on the LaGrange Municipal Government Finance Corporation.

4 Melissa Robertson was appointed to a one-year term on the Memorial Park Board.

4 Tom Gore was reappointed to a one-year term on the Records Committee.

4 Willie Edmondson, Tom Gore, Mark Mitchell, Nathan Gaskin, Jim Arrington, Quay Boddie and Leon Childs were reappointed to one-year terms on the Solid Waste Management Authority.

4 Norma Tucker was reappointed to a six-year term on the Troup County Board of Health.

4 Willie Bradfield was reappointed to a one-year term on the Troup County FEMA Board.

The appointment to the position of Assistant Municipal Court Judge was not filled and the council unanimously voted to eliminate the position. Mayor Edmondson explained that Judge Baker advised the city that the position was not needed and he could handle it by himself. The position was most recently held by Luther Jones.

In other business, the council held first readings on ordinances to annex and rezone seven parcels located on Hamilton Road adjacent to Sam Walker Drive and Vulcan Material Road. The parcels include the former Troup County Correctional Institute, the Troup County Jail, Troup County Fire Station 1, the Troup County Emergency Management Office and the former Georgia State Patrol building.

No one from the public spoke in favor or against the annexation or rezoning.