ELECTION SEASON IS UPON US: Four are qualified for one county commission seat

Published 6:06 pm Wednesday, March 6, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

There will be plenty of names on May’s ballot, and plenty of competitive local races.

Qualifying for county and school board positions continues through Friday, but through three days, there are plenty of names on the ballot.

The District 2 Troup County Commissioner race currently includes four candidates — incumbent Ellis Cadenhead, April Loftin, James Thrailkill and Andrew Moody. Cadenhead, Loftin and Thrailkill are Republicans, while Moody is a Democrat.

In County Commission District 3, incumbent Lewis Davis and Ashley Adams are currently slated to square off in the Republican primary.

In District 4 for county commission, incumbent Morris Jones will be challenged by Phil Nations in the Republican primary.

Superior court clerk Jackie Taylor will have competition from Nicole Gratton in the Republican primary.

In the sheriff race, incumbent James Woodruff will face off with Benjamin Turner in the Republican primary. Ricky Ward is also slated to run as an independent.

The Troup County School Board could look a lot different, depending on how the next two days shake out.

Right now only incumbent Ferrell Blair (District 2) and Tripp Foster (District 6) have qualified. Incumbents for those seats, but not qualified, are Brandon Brooks (District 3), Cathy Hunt (District 5) and Joe Franklin (District 6). Currently, no one has qualified in District 3 or District 5.

Many races currently have only one candidate qualified — tax commissioner (incumbent Shane Frailey), coroner (incumbent Erin Hackley), solicitor (incumbent Sandra Taylor), state court judge (incumbent Wesley Leonard) and probate court judge (incumbent Debbie Wade).

Qualifying continues through Friday, so more candidates are expected to throw their names in the hat by then.

Qualifying for the LaGrange mayor and LaGrange City Council District 1 seat will be held March 11-13.