Smith recognized for 25 years of service by the DLDA

Published 11:37 am Wednesday, March 13, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Downtown LaGrange Development Authority invited a longtime member back for some well-earned recognition.

Former DLDA Executive Director Edward Smith was recognized for over 25 years of service to the DLDA and LaGrange at the top of their meeting on Tuesday.

“As you all know, who rode off and is no longer officially [in the DLDA] for the first time in at least 26 years,” said DLDA Executive Director Bill Hunnicutt.

Hunnicutt said they created a new award — the Executive Director Gavel Award — to thank Smith for his service.

The new award was presented to Smith in grateful appreciation for over 25 years of dedication and contributions to the Downtown Lagrange Development Authority and the improvements to Downtown LaGrange.

“Edward has been here so long he’s served every office there is here, and I just can’t thank him enough. He was my first chairman, and I wore him out. I can’t tell you how many times we talked to get things going here,” Hunnicutt said.

Prior to the award presentation, the DLDA voted in its 2024-2026 slate of officers. The new officers include:

4 Chairwoman: Amy Warren

4 Past Chair: Skip Smith

4 Vice Chairman: Tripp Penn

4 Treasurer: Joe Ragland

4 Secretary: Matt Mallory

4 Recording Secretary: Liza Fritchley

All six of the nominations were unanimously approved. After the votes, Skip Smith handed over the gavel to Warren, congratulating her as only the second female chair in the organization’s history.