Rotary welcomes new president

Published 10:10 am Wednesday, June 26, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

On the evening of June 13, the Rotary Club of LaGrange’s members thanked their outgoing President Paul (Tripp) Penn and welcomed incoming club President Connie Hensler. The end of the year celebration was hosted at the Oakfuskee Conversation Center, it was a beautiful evening.

Recent high school graduates Claire New-Matthews and Oni C. Smith were present along with their families to be recognized as the Rotary Club’s scholarship recipients. Neftali Velasquez was also recognized but, unfortunately, was not able to attend the evening. The club’s major yearly awards were then presented.

Julian (Jake) Jones was presented with the Charles D. Hudson Service Above Self Rotarian of the Year award. The Barbara Henigin Above and Beyond Award was given posthumously to Mayor Willie Edmondson, which his son Jay Edmondson graciously accepted. Finally, the Charles D. Hudson Service Above Self Citizen of the Year award was given to The Honorable Judge R. Michael Key.

Penn then passed the president pin and gavel to Hensler, who is to be the 2024-2025 club’s president. Hensler reciprocated by thanking Penn for his service and presenting him with tokens of the club members’ appreciation.

“Our annual banquet is a great opportunity to reflect on the past year and the dedicated leadership of President Tripp,” Hensler said. “Looking ahead, we are excited about starting our second century of service.”

Hensler officially assumes the role of the president of the Rotary Club on July 1, 2024. The Rotary Club of LaGrange meets every Wednesday at noon at the Highland Country Club, prospective members are always welcome.