Troup County School System names teacher of year nominees

Published 7:58 pm Friday, October 20, 2017


This week, schools in Troup County surprised teachers with flowers and other gifts when they announced the 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year for each school. Twenty-five teachers will now move on to the essay portion of the nomination process.

Each year, this program recognizes teachers who display excellence and high standards for the teaching profession. Each elementary school, HOPE Academy and THINC College & Career Academy designate one teacher for the honor while all other secondary schools designate two teachers each.

All nominees complete applications describing their professional preparation and experience, as well as answer questions pertaining to their philosophy of teaching and practical applications. Roughly ten professionals from the school system, community, and Partners in Education will be tapped to participate in a blind evaluation of their written applications.

From the nominees, three system finalists will be named – one representing elementary, middle and high school levels. The top three candidates are then judged by education professionals who do not reside in Troup County. They will observe classroom instruction, conduct interviews and review the finalist’s written applications.

Finally, one of the top three finalists will be named Troup County School System (TCSS) Teacher of the Year in March during an afternoon reception where family, colleagues and friends can enjoy the moment with them. TCSS’ current Teacher of the Year, Kayla Yeargin from Troup High School, is currently vying for the state level honor.

The nominees from each school are:

  • Nyshunda Welch, Berta Weathersbee Elementary School
  • Angie Riddle, Callaway Elementary School
  • Mary Elizabeth Beach, Ethel W. Kight Elementary School
  • Lisa Tucker, Franklin Forest Elementary School
  • Jeff Anderson, Hillcrest Elementary School
  • Emily Olinger , Hogansville Elementary School
  • Angie Smith , Hollis Hand Elementary School
  • Shannon Gipson , Long Cane Elementary School
  • Nancy Brown, Rosemont Elementary School
  • Bryan Wallace , West Point Elementary School
  • Lonnie Thornton, Jr., Whitesville Road Elementary School
  • Broderick Stargell, Callaway Middle School
  • Lee Ann Hanner, Callaway Middle School
  • Lisa O’Neal, Gardner Newman Middle School
  • Latacha Hardnett , Gardner Newman Middle School
  • Theresa Henke, Long Cane Middle School
  • Joanie Blanks, Long Cane Middle School
  • Jason Sherrer, Callaway High School
  • Kyle Veatch, Callaway High School
  • Randy Hardigree, LaGrange High School
  • Heather Evans, LaGrange High School
  • Christina Cooper, The HOPE Academy
  • Aidan Blackwell, THINC College & Career Academy
  • Amy Brown, Troup High School
  • Connie Aplin, Troup High School