Gore, Gaskin, Jackson win in unopposed races

Published 12:52 am Wednesday, November 8, 2017

While many candidates were sweating it out Tuesday night, others were able to rest comfortably, knowing they would be elected.

Tom Gore, who represents seat 1A on the LaGrange City Council, was elected to another term Tuesday night. Gore received an even 2,400 votes. There were 25 write-in votes.

Newcomer Nathan Gaskin was voted in to take over post 2A on the LaGrange City Council. Gaskin will fill Norma Tucker’s vacated spot. Tucker decided not to pursue another term on the council.

Gaskin received 1,002 votes and there were also 46 write-in votes. Chad Cooper, who was slated to run against Gaskin, was disqualified in September due to not meeting residency requirements.

Hogansville City Council member Reginald Jackson was also re-elected to his position on post 1.

He received 356 votes. There were 8 write-in votes in that race.