County honors employees for service

Published 7:42 pm Tuesday, September 18, 2018

On Tuesday, Troup County honored employees for their years of service.

The quarterly event is an opportunity for the county to recognize the employees who keep county services — like the fire department, parks and recreation, the sheriff’s office and the marshal’s office — running. Most comments at the ceremony were scripted, but unscripted appreciation was also shared.

“Thirty-five years is a major milestone, and I want to congratulate Chief [Gene] Hogg for his 35-years of service,” Troup County Fire Chief Dennis Knight said.

Hogg was the longest serving employee recognized Monday. He joined the Troup County Fire Department in 1983, after serving as a volunteer at the Rosemont station.

Richard Jones from the Troup County Fire Department and Edward Jones for the marshal’s office were recognized for 30 years of service.

Some supervisors told jokes while sharing their appreciation of those recognized.

“When I look at deputies or guys who we take into law enforcement, the first thing I look at is if they are a good person, and a good person will be a good officer,” TCSO Chief Deputy Jon Whitney said. “That is an important requirement. … This guy right here [Derwin Brewer] is the epitome. He smiles every day. He is always happy to see somebody. You know when he is in the room, and he also does things outside of work. He and his family do a lot of extra activities for the community.”

Brewer, Kevin Hendrix, Corey Jones and Jackie Taylor were honored for 25 years of service.

“[Jackie Taylor] does great things,” County Manager Tod Tentler said.

“She is the most hard working clerk — I can honestly say — in the entire state of Georgia.”

Darryl Holsey, Lawrence Nommensen, Patrick Smith and Jonathan Webb were honored for 20 years of service.

Terri Wood from TCSO was honored for 15 years of service.

Avery Bailey, Virginia Barnes, Joseph Brooks, Chase Darden, Randy Mobley and Daniel Wooten were honored for 10 years of service.

James Anderson, Hilliard Daniel, Gabriel Garner, Michael Hockett, Matthias Lewis, Brandon Long, Mark Peak, Ricky Smith, Tammy Traylor and Marsha Veal were honored for five years of service.

The Troup County Board of Commissioners also voted on several items, including:

The board approved a request to lift the hiring freeze to hire a judicial administrator to replace a retiring employee. A request to lift the hiring freeze to replace two parks and recreation workers transferring to other departments was also approved.

The board of commissioners also honored the county finance department for receiving the GFOA Excellence in Government Finance Award.

The county commission approved a request to hire JMCM Consulting to apply for grants for the Troup County Fire Department. A request to allow parks and recreation to move forward with a grant application process was also approved.

Randall Allen and Yvonne Atchison were reappointed to a 3-year term on the Historic Preservation Committee.

Mike Merideth was appointed to a 3-year term on Pathways CSB.

Richard English, Jr. and Lewis Davis, Jr. were reappointed to a 1-year term on the Two Rivers Regional Commission and D. Edward Boswell was appointed to fill unexpired term on the Zoning Appeals & Planning Commission, which will end on Dec. 31, 2020.

Ellen Harris was nominated as joint appointment with City of LaGrange for the LaGrange–Troup County Hospital Authority. If Harris is approved by the City of LaGrange later this month, she will serve a 3-year term.

The Troup County Board of Commissioners will meet again on Thursday at 9 a.m. for its annual retreat at the Griffin-Spaulding County Chamber of Commerce at 143 North Hill Street in Griffin.