County commission honors employees

Published 6:11 pm Tuesday, December 18, 2018

On Tuesday, the Troup County Board of Commissioners honored 11 employees for their years of service.

Deputy Clerk of Courts Kimberly White was honored for 25 years of service, for 12 years in the tax commissioner’s office and then for 13 years in the clerk of courts office.

“Kim has a wealth of knowledge and expertise in the filing of deeds and records,” said Sherry Welborn, the chief deputy clerk of courts. “… We thank you for your service, Kim.”

Other employees honored included Court Reporter Crystal Cotton (five years), Athletic Coordinator Emily Hamer (five years), Deputy Sheriff Joshua Miller (five years), Firefighter/EMT Eric Rogers II (10 years), Tag Title and Tax Specialist Brandie Newsome (15 years), Deputy Sheriff Larry Arrington (20 years), Assistant Finance Officer Sonya Conroy (20 years), Detention Officer Doris Mosley (20 years) and Deputy Clerk Tara Turner (20 years). Additionally, former County Manager Tod Tentler was honored for 20 years of service, although he was not in attendance since he has been previously recognized for his years of service as a county employee.

“On behalf of the board of commissioners, we would like to thank each and every one of you for your time in serving Troup County and its citizens over the years,” said Wesleigh Whittle, administrative assistant to the Troup County Board of Commissioners. 

County Manager Eric Mosley thanked Whittle for her work organizing the regular recognitions.

Other actions discussed during the meeting included:

  • The board of commissioners approved a JCS probation contract for Superior Court. Mosley said it is “a mirror” of the state court contract. Court Services Administrator Wanda Cotton said the only change from previous discussion was defining a year as a fiscal year.
  • The commission approved the acceptance of a supplemental grant award for Accountability Court.
  • A budget amendment was passed to take into account grants for DUI, Drug Court and Family Dependency Courts.
  • The commission approved the budget to allow interest from SPLOST III investments to be spent on qualified projects.
  • The Troup County Board of Commissioners approved beer and wine licenses for Vernon Road Food Mart on Vernon Road, RV Food Mart on Upper Big Springs Road and West Point Food Mart on West Point Road.
  • The commission also made a series of board appointments and reappointments including Jesse Jones and Tommy Baker to the appeals board/subdivisions and road specifications; Donald Gross to the board of assessors; William Tatum and Johnnie Freeman to the board of elections and registration; Franklin Reese and Natalie Hale to the building board of adjustments and appeals; Clark Johnson as county historian; James Emery to the Greater West Georgia Joint Development Authority; Patrick Crews to the Recreation Endowment Fund Board of Trustees; Richard English Jr. and Curtis Brown Jr. to the Three Rivers Regional Commission; Charles Milligan to the Troup County Board of Zoning Appeals and Planning Commision; Charles Milligan to the Troup County Development Authority; Carol Todd to the Troup County Library Board; Morris Jones to the Troup County Parks and Recreation Commission; and Keith Hester, Charles Darda and J.C. Cameron to the Troup County Water Review Board.
  • The board of commissioners voted to cancel the meeting on the first Tuesday in January, which would fall on Jan. 1, which is a county government holiday. 

The Troup County Board of Commissioners will meet again on Jan. 10 at 9 a.m. at 100 Ridley Avenue.