Locals qualify in local races

Published 7:00 pm Tuesday, August 20, 2019

At the end of the second day of qualifiers, 13 residents had registered to run for city government seats in Troup County.

On Monday, current LaGrange City Council Members Mark Mitchell and Willie Edmondson qualified to run for the seats they currently occupy, district 1C and 2C respectively. Current Council Member LeGree McCamey (district 2B) re-qualified on Tuesday.

Meanwhile, current West Point Mayor Steve Tramell qualified to run for mayor, and Walda “Wicky” Gladden qualified to run for council in West Point on Monday. 

On Tuesday, current council members the Rev Gerald Ledbetter and Sandra Thornton qualified to run for council again, as did Kesha Edwards-Coniglio.

In Hogansville, currently serving council members Theresa Strickland (post five) and George Bailey (post four) both registered on Monday to run for another term. 

On Tuesday, Tony Striblin qualified for post five, and Mandy Neese and Mark Ayers qualified for post three. 

Current Post Three Council Member Fred Higgins announced on Monday that he would not be running for office again.

Elections will be held on Nov. 5.

To qualify for a position in Georgia, candidates must be at least 21-years-old and must meet the requirements of a qualified voter of the city, as prescribed by state law. 

The potential candidate must have been a resident of the city for at least one year. No person will be eligible to be mayor or councilman who has been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, unless he has received a full pardon and has all rights of citizenship restored.