Annual state outdoor burn ban starts Friday

Published 6:04 pm Thursday, April 30, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Georgia’s annual ban on outdoor burning begins Friday in 47 counties. 

According to the Georgia Forestry Commissioner, the Georgia Environmental Protection Division (EPD) puts the restrictions in place during the summer months, when increases in ground-level ozone may create health risks.

The 47 counties affected by the ban beginning May 1 are Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Butts, Carroll, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Columbia, Coweta, Crawford, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jones, Lamar, Lumpkin, Madison, Meriwether, Monroe, Morgan, Newton, Oconee, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Putnam, Richmond, Rockdale, Spalding, Troup, Twiggs and Walton.

The forestry commission said in a news release that May through September is the time of year when people, particularly children, are more likely to be outdoors. Higher levels of ground-level ozone and particle pollution levels are known to contribute to lung problems and heart disease.

The news release said residents in Georgia counties not included in the annual burn ban would continue to be required to secure a burn permit from the Georgia Forestry Commission (GFC) before burning outdoors. Permits can be secured online at, by calling 1-877-OK2-BURN or contacting their county GFC office.

For more information about the EPD, summer burn ban go to and click on “Open Burning Rules for Georgia” under popular topics, or call the EPD District Office serving your area. To learn about services of the Georgia Forestry Commission, visit